Top Level Domains

Internet experienced a dramatic and crucial change and affected every user with the arrival of gTLD.  gTLD stands for generic top-level domain. TLD or top level domains have been around for many years. The current TLD’s are distributed in categories. These categories are governed and regulated by ICANN (The Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers).

Examples of these categories include:

  • Generic (gTLD) which includes .com, .net, .org
  • Country code (ccTLD) which includes .be, .us, .es
  • Sponsored (sTLD)which includes .tel, .jobs, .mobi
  • Infrastructure(iTLD) which includes .arpa
  • Reserved which includes .test, .invalid and .example

gTLD’s are the most popular type of top level domains. It refers to the three letters that appear after your domain name. When you are registering a domain name, you actually create a combination of first and second level names.  Let’s say you want to register You are the registrant and you acquire the name using a suitable registrar accredited by ICANN. The registrar checks with the registry and if the desired name is available then you get to own it. It is a noted fact that registry is actually the one who allows your domain name to function technically. It puts your domain name in the appropriate databases so that internet world can search you and get you.

You can create and manage a top-level domain of your own choice. You can make your TLD as inclusive as well as exclusive as you desire. If you represent a community or cultural preservation group then TLD will provide a strong point with the internet world acknowledges what you value. If you represent a government then TLD can make you effectively share your views and find vital information.

New gTLD’s also possess cosmopolitan domain names that include character sets such as Chinese, Arabic, Cyrillic, and other foreign language alphabets. That fact has opened the internet world to masses and new users.  Businesses also get a lot of benefit from new gTLD’s.